Faculty

Faculty of the Department of Mining

 

 

James Archibald

Grad Chair/Professor

(613) 533-2198, Goodwin 337
jamie.archibald@queensu.ca

Stress Modeling and Measurement, Radioactive Materials/Radon Gas Barrier, Membranes Rapidly-deployable Spray-on Membrane Supports, Ground Waste Glass as Cement Binder Replacement in Backfill, Spray-on Membrane Materials for Acid Mine Drainage Mitigation, Paste Backfill Design and Performance Characterization, Environmental Assessment for New Mine Developments


Laeeque Daneshmend

Professor

(613) 533-3294, Goodwin 353
LKD1@queensu.ca

Machine Design, Equipment Maintenance, Maintenance Management, Reliability Analysis, Systems Modeling, Simulation and Control, Mining Automation, Telerobotics


Euler De Souza

Associate Professor

(613) 533-2199, Goodwin 334
euler.desouza@queensu.ca

Mine Ventilation, Field Instrumentation, Centrifuge Modeling


Jeffrey Davidson

Professor

(613) 533-2206, Goodwin 340
Jeffrey.Davidson@queensu.ca

Applied Mineral Economics and Sustainability

Jeffrey Davidson

 


Ahmad Ghahremaninezhad

Assistant Professor

 

(613)533-3294, Goodwin 325

ahmad.g@queensu.ca

 

Hydrometallurgy and biohydrometallurgy, Mineral processing wastes and their remediation,

Electrochemical dissolution of complex minerals (fundamental studies), Flowsheet design and modeling

 

Ahmad Ghahremaninezhad  

Anthony Hodge

Stollery Professor in Mining Engineering and Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering


Anthony.Hodge@mine.queensu.ca

Environmental and Sustainability

Anthony Hodge

Takis Katsabanis

Head/Associate Professor

(613) 533-2197, Goodwin 329
takis.katsabanis@queensu.ca

Detonation Physics, Blasting, Fragmentation, Vibration

Takis Katsabanis

Sadan Kelebek

Professor

(613)533-2207, Goodwin 341
Sadan.Kelebek@queensu.ca

Mineral Processing Technology, Process & Tailing Environment, Computer Assisted Process Analysis, Complex Sulphides and Pyrrhotite Rejection


Joshua Marshall

Assistant Professor

(613)533-2921, Goodwin 325
Joshua.Marshall@queensu.ca

Dr. Marshall's research focuses on mining systems and involves the development and application of advanced methods for perception, modeling, analysis, and control of mining equipment and processes

Joshua Marshall

Steve McKinnon

Chair Mine Design

(613) 533-6553, Goodwin 335
steve.mckinnon@queensu.ca

Geotechnical Evaluation, Mine Design, Numerical Modelling, Rock Mechanics, Stress Measurement

 


 

Mario Morin

Kinross Professor in Mining Health and Safety

Associate Professor

Undergraduate Chair

(613) 533-6673

Mario.Morin@Queensu.ca

Occupational Health and Safety, Mining Feasibility, Mine Planning Systems

 

Mario Morin

Chris Pickles

Professor

(613) 533-2759, Goodwin 342
Chris.Pickles@queensu.ca

Processes and the Environment, Advanced Pyrometallurgy, Process Engineering for Metals Extraction, Advanced Metals Extraction

Chris Pickles

Ursula Thorley

Assistant Professor

(613) 533-2910, Goodwin 332
Ursula.Thorley@queensu.ca

Open pit mine planning and design, Mine waste management, Tailings facility planning and management, Mine reclamation and reclamation assurance, Open pit safety

Ursula Thorley